Month: September 2013

  • His "New Commandment" Revisited, Retried.

    Sometimes, too often, I am criticized for individualism and non- conformity in my Christian walk.  But I am Holy Spirit- Led.  I'm led Personally by the very Spirit of Jesus!  And sadly, I perceive that most Christian folks are not.   Instead, most Christians rely upon their head knowledge of the codes and guidelines written to the newest Christians in their circumstances and cultures in the first century of the church. 

    As I pondered this, Jesus pointed out three truths to me: 

    One, what some call individualism and non-conformity comes from my trying to obey His "New" Commandment to us that we should love one another, which includes loving as He loved us -- a very tall order.  His commandment supersedes the laws, rules and regulations in scripture because it is their very foundation.  And the kind of love He is commanding is a daunting challenge, as it is defined in 1st Corinthians 13: 4Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; 5does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; 6does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; 7bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Who can love like this all the time except one who is being Spirit- led!

    Two, this kind of love can only be practiced effectively by the more mature of Christians, as defined in Romans 8: 14For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, these are sons of God, and in 1st Corinthians 2:  But God has revealed them to us through His Spirit. For the Spirit searches all things, yes, the deep things of God. 11For what man knows the things of a man except the spirit of the man which is in him? Even so no one knows the things of God except the Spirit of God12Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, that we might know the things that have been freely given to us by God.

     

    Unfortunately, most Christians are not led by the Spirit of God but are rather very much "still carnal;" 1st Corinthians 3: 1And I, brethren, could not speak to you as to spiritual people but as to carnal, as to mere babes in Christ. 2I fed you with milk and not with solid food; for until now you were not able to receive it, and even now you are still not able; 3for you are still carnal... behaving like mere men?

     

    Three, He said to me: "My  "new commandment"  demands my disciples be weaned off of the Old Law."  The law was our tutor to bring us to Christ, that we might be justified by faith.  But after faith has come, we are no longer under a tutor. (See Galatians 3: 24 & 25.)  And in this context, He reminded me that even Paul, the great penman of much of the New Testament, wrote as a "recovering Pharisee;"   that "much of what Paul wrote was intended for Jesus' babes, needing milk instead of solid food," referring again to 1st Corinthians 3.

    Nearly two thousand years old and yet most of the church is still carnal, still trying to keep the Law by their own, limited understanding!

    This includes me, of course, despite my total commitment to His transformation of me.  But God is in control and the church and and are maturing and growing fruitful according to His plan.

    ...