Month: June 2013

  • "...the laws of Christ?"

    Here and now, in the age of grace, true Christians are guided ONLY by "the Laws of Christ" which He Himself spoke about during His earthly ministry, and which NEVER fail to reveal God's love living in us.  Here is my list of those  which most often guide me; but I welcome all to add to my list:

    1.  Do Not Judge One Another!  (Even as Leaders and Teachers in the church!  No, ESPECIALLY as Leaders and Teachers, we must not judge one another.  We must bear with our brothers and sisters, leaving time and space for  The Spirit of Christ to change them as He wills.)

    (Beware of the exceptions traditionally intended by the Apostle Paul.  Heed the warning of the Apostle Peter in 2nd Peter 3:15:  "...as also our beloved brother Paul, according to the wisdom given to him, has written to you, 16 as also in all his epistles, speaking in them of these things, in which are some things hard to understand, which untaught and unstable people twist to their own destruction, as they do also the rest of the Scriptures.")

    2.  Love God with all your hearts, souls and physical strength.  

    3.  Love One Another as we would have others love us. 

    And 4.  Love One Another As Christ Himself Loved Us, putting the needs of others ahead of our own.

    Keeping the Laws of Christ as we are led by the Holy Spirit of God will inevitably get us into trouble with the modern-day Pharisees, the "still carnal" believers, the gatekeepers and other apostates, the so-called Christians surrounding us.

    They will inevitably stumble over our lives in Christ even as they have stumbled over the completed work of Christ.  But this is the cross we are called to take up daily, to live the laws of Christ. 

    ...

  • Today is the day...

    About Me: For years I prayed God would get me into His best Bible college! Suddenly, in 1999 He answered by allowing me to be sent to prison for a crime I most certainly did NOT commit. There the Holy Spirit of Jesus Christ began to speak more intimately with me, educating me personally, just as He did in the early days with His Apostles Peter, John and Paul, when they were prisoners! Glory to God! Therefore now I know I am blessed, recognizing I have been better-equipped than many of His other servants, grounded in His Word, Spirit filled, anointed to counsel, teach and write. The Lord has led me through and delivered me from many trials. At present, my trials include morbid obesity, heart disease and diabetes; and satan continues to try and persuade me that God's plans for me suck! But God IS Good and I trust Him! Read my credentials at 2nd Corinthians 3: 4, 5 and 6. Email me at JerusalemHill@live.com

    Today is the day,

    June 27th, just over one month since my Mom left her failing body behind "to be with the Lord where He is!"  And I'm still getting used to the idea I don't need to pick up the phone to talk with her anymore.

    Because of some expected controversy, she and I had agreed I should wait until this time after her passing to begin sharing some of the revelations The Holy Spirit of Jesus has given to me. And now I'm waiting, listening for Him to tell me what to say, when to say it and how to say it.

    Generally the message is about the need for believers to seek His Spirit for guidance so that they may distinguish between God's Truth  (the genuinely good news in Christ Jesus) and the false traditions which have come down to us over many centuries from the apostate, the "fallen away," the "synagogue of satan," which calls itself the church but isn't!

    I shared this much of the message with Pastor Jerry and Sister Tammy Bates back in 2002 when I returned to Parke County from God's "best Bible college." We talked about the meaning of Jesus' parable about the tares (false wheat) and the real wheat growing up side by side until He comes for the harvest. (See in Matthew 13: 25 - 27.)   More recently I tried to alert our Wednesday night Bible study group to the prophecies of Jesus Himself regarding the true church and the false church, which are found in the book of Revelation, chapters 2 and 3; but clearly I was stepping out ahead of the Lord's timing and made myself appear pretty foolish!

    Foolishness is the absence of wisdom from heaven caused by failing to wait upon the Lord, and I have often been drenched in it!   And one of my fondest recent memories is of Mom and I laughing over this foolishness, one of many secrets we shared about my ministry.  I can imagine her now, today, face-to-face with Our Lord and recalling that time of laughter between us. Ah, Yes, Today is the day which the Lord has made! I am glad and rejoicing in it, along with my Mom!

    ...

  • Permit Me An Introduction: I'm Under Re Construction

    This is a photo of the re construction of the Covered Bridge in Bridgeton, Indiana.  As a boy I rode across the original covered bridge on this site at least twice a day to and from elementary school.  Yes, I was riding as a passenger in a school bus.  The old bridge, which was built just after 1900, creaked and groaned from the weight of the school bus; but our safety was never in doubt.  It took a determined arsonist to finally drop that old bridge.  But an equally determined community rebuilt with the same time-honored materials and engineering.  And you should see the place now!

    This re constructed bridge, built to honor the historical masterpiece which was destroyed, is a metaphor for my own life these days. Except that I'm now much fatter than ever before, I may appear to some as unchanged over the years.  BUT "He Who began a good work in me is faithful to complete it!"  I am being made more like My Lord and Savior Jesus Christ minute by minute, and prompted often to speak as One with authority.  Anyone who visits with me will have the chance to begin to walk through this same bridge, either with me or on your own; I'll just point you in the right direction.

    I am Jerusalem Hill. an apostle (simply meaning one who has been Personally sent) by the Lord Jesus Christ, sent as His "foreign missionary" to my own home county, Parke County Indiana, and to the internet community worldwide. 

    ...

  • Between the Extremes

    I am not Antinomian. I do not reject the proper application of Biblical, moral laws.

    Antinomianism (Greek anti,"against"; nomos,"law") is the doctrine that faith in Christ frees the Christian from obligation to observe the moral law as set forth in the Old Testament. The insistence in the Epistles of St. Paul upon the inadequacy of the law to save, and upon salvation by faith without "works of the law" or "deeds of righteousness" (see Romans 3:20, 28; Ephesians 2:9; 2 Timothy 2:9; Titus 3:5) could easily be interpreted as a claim of freedom from all obligation to obey the moral law. Thus, righteous persons might well hold such a doctrine and behave in an exemplary way, not from compulsion but from a devotion higher than the law. (That describes me!  Notice though, that the Holy Spirit dictates what shall be exemplary, not other people!)

    The word antinomian comes from the Greek anti (against) and nomos (law), and refers to the doctrine that it is not necessary for Christians to preach and / or obey the moral law of the Scriptures. There have been several different justifications for this view down through the centuries.

    Some have taught that once persons are justified by faith in Christ, they no longer have any obligation toward the moral law because Jesus has freed them from it. A variant of this first position is that since Christ has raised believers above the positive precepts of the law, they need to be obedient only to the immediate guidance of the Holy Spirit, who will keep them from sin. My personal position embraces that last one, but recognizes the need for believers to “grow up” into such maturity, ie. progressive sanctification.  Paul speaks to "those of you who are spiritual," thus acknowledging that many are NOT "spiritual."

    But neither am I a Legalist. I do not believe that every written instruction applies to every Christian in every circumstance! There are “mere babes” in Christ. And there are “still carnal” in Christ. And these do well to stay safely within the written moral codes of the New Testament Epistles.

    However, I believe that Christians should “grow up,” building upon the foundational Laws of Christ:

    1. Love God with all your heart, soul and strength.     

    2. Love your neighbor as you love yourself. (Treat others as you desire to be treated.) 

    And 3. Love your brother and sister as Christ has loved you! (Christ continuously sacrificed Himself for the greater good of you and me!)

    Christians can only successfully “grow up,” by seeking and learning to be led personally and intimately by the Living Spirit of Jesus, growing progressively more "spiritual," and less and less "carnal" throughout our lives.

    ...

  • Part of the last 3% to get the word.

    The rumors are flying here on Xanga about the possibility of their demise!  I'm disappointed.  Xanga has been my blogging community of choice for many years now.  If they survive, I will continue in my Lifetime, True membership!

    If they don't I will continue to blog and build online friendships elsewhere.  Already you can find me at http://jerusalemhill.me.

    And I have downloaded the archives of my blogs on Xanga to my PC which is also backed up by Carbonite.

     

    ...